You are using an outdated browser and your browsing experience will not be optimal. Please update to the latest version of Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox. Install Microsoft Edge

August 30, 2011

One Economic Community

Asia-Pacific & Middle East IP Focus 2011, 9th Edition, Managing Intellectual Property

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (FTA) was signed in Hua Hin, Thailand, on February 27 2009, and entered into force on January 1 2010 when eight of the 12 participating countries ratified it (ie Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Burma, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Vietnam). Before this FTA was signed, Australia and New Zealand had an FTA with each other, and each of them had FTAs with Thailand and Singapore. However, the two developed countries from the southern hemisphere did not have FTAs with Brunei, Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam. This FTA will liberalize and facilitate trade in goods, services, and investment between Australia and New Zealand with those Southeast Asian nations.

Related Professionals