You are using an outdated browser and your browsing experience will not be optimal. Please update to the latest version of Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox. Install Microsoft Edge

January 10, 2017

New Visa System in Myanmar

The Ministry of Labor, Immigration and Population announced on December 1, 2016, that the visa fees for Myanmar have been increased with immediate effect. Aimed at bringing Myanmar’s visa fees in line with those of other countries, the rise affects 11 out of 12 types of visas, except diplomatic visas, which will remain free of charge. Visas should be applied for prior to one’s intended travel dates at the Embassies of Myanmar or at authorized agents. Certain visas are available for application on arrival at the Yangon, Mandalay, and Nay Pyi Taw international airports, while e-visas for tourist visas and single-entry business visas are also available through an e-visa application for travelers entering into Myanmar via Yangon, Mandalay, and Nay Pyi Taw international airports, and the Tachileik, Myawaddy, and Kawthaung ports of entry located on the Myanmar-Thailand border. Passport holders of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam arriving in Myanmar by air are allowed up to 14 days of visa-exempted stay, while passport holders of Singapore arriving by air are allowed up to 30 days of visa-exempted stay. To view a table summarizing the types of visas available and their respective fees, please click on the PDF below.

Related Professionals