May 26, 2020
Cambodia Removes Ban on International Travelers from Six Countries Subject to Entry Requirements

As the COVID-19 situation continues to evolve in Cambodia, the government has issued a declaration, dated May 20, 2020, removing the ban on travelers entering the Kingdom from the following six countries:

  • France
  • Germany
  • Iran
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • United States of America

The removal of these travel restrictions, announced jointly by the Ministry of Health and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, is effective immediately. This effectively rescinds a temporary ban on the entry of travelers into Cambodia from those six countries, which has been in effect since March 17, 2020, later extended on April 16, 2020, in order to prevent imported cases of COVID-19 during the initial outbreak peak.

Though the entry ban has been lifted, all travelers to Cambodia must comply with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation’s heightened requirements for entry, which initially The latest requirements for entry, as outlined in the May 20 declaration, apply in part to Cambodian as well as foreign travelers.

In accordance with these requirements, all Cambodian and foreign travelers to Cambodia must possess a medical certificate stating that they have tested negative for COVID-19. The certificate must be issued by a competent health authority in their country of residence no more than 72 hours prior to travel into Cambodia.

Foreign nationals must also provide proof of medical insurance that shows coverage for the duration of their intended stay in Cambodia, with coverage in an amount not less than USD 50,000.

These requirements for both certification and proof of insurance are not applicable to travelers holding either a diplomatic visa (Visa A) or an official visa (Visa B). These travel restrictions also do not apply to air operators’ crew members.

Upon arrival in Cambodia, both Cambodian and foreign travelers will be admitted to a health center and subjected to COVID-19 testing. All travelers will remain in custody until their laboratory results have been received. 

If one or more travelers test positive for COVID-19, all accompanying passengers will be subjected to a 14-day quarantine at a government-designated location. If all travelers test negative for COVID-19, however, they will be allowed to self-isolate in their respective accommodation for 14 days under the supervision of local authorities. On the thirteenth day of self-isolation, they will be subject to another COVID-19 test before they can leave their accommodation.

Related Professionals
Nitikar Nith
+855 23 964 210
Robin Spiess